See the completed renovation! Friday, Feb 20, 2015, 4:00-6:00 pm
118 S Driver Street is a classic tri-gable house in East Durham. In 2013, Preservation Durham invested the proceeds of a grant from the 1772 Foundation in the rehabilitation of this property with Renovision Properties. In 2014 the house was completely renovated and marked the beginning of a reinvigorated Endangered Properties Program.
- Protective covenants put in place through EPF sale in June of 2004.
- Craftsman bungalow built by the Blackman family between 1910 and 1920.
- Originally located on Erwin Road (where the Duke Eye Hospital now stands), this house was moved three times:
- Moved to LaSalle Street – then Holman Road – in the mid-1960s when Duke began to expand its campus
- Temporarily moved to Hillsborough Road in 2002, where it sat awaiting a zoning change
- Post-rezoning approval, house was finally relocated to Lawndale Avenue.
- Despite many moves, the bungalow has always remained part of West Durham.
- Building sold through City RFP in late 2011.
- Preservation ensured by PD through EPF covenants and by NC Historic Preservation Office via the income-producing historic tax credits; click here to learn more about rehab credits.
- Example of PD partnering with commercial developers.
- Continues ongoing revitalization of the Downtown Durham National Register Historic District.
- Served as an impetus for initiating a reassessment and expansion of the Downtown district, which was established in the 1970s and overdue for reevaluation.
A charming, already renovated home in revitalizing East Durham.
213 S. Driver Street, Durham NC 27703
1,300 square feet approx.
3 bedrooms / 2 baths
This 1910s tri-gable has been renovated by Project RED, a partnership of Preservation North Carolina and Preservation Durham. It is being offered for sale as a single-family residence. Find more information here.
- Protective covenants put in place through EPF sale in April of 2010.
- Contributing property in the Trinity Park National Register Historic District.
- High-style Colonial Revival built in the early 1920s for Duke mathematics professor W.W. Rankin.
- Rehabilitation included:
- Complete rebuild of both the built-in copper gutters and the roof structure.
- Damaged slates on the front of the roof replaced with good slate from the rear porch.
- Rear porch recovered with a recycled-rubber replica slate material.
- Plaster and wood moldings, doors, flooring and more were retained and restored.
- Bathrooms and kitchen fully updated, but many features were retained and restored, including the floor tile, tubs, and built-in cabinets.
- Protective covenants put in place through EPF sale in October of 2008.
- Contributing property in the Duke Park/Old North Durham National Register Historic District.
- Owners converted property from a duplex to a single-family dwelling.
- Many significant architectural elements retained during renovation including:
- Interior and exterior paneled wood doors
- Original door key plates
- Six-over-six double hung windows
- Interior and exterior moldings
- Original firebox and mantle
- Built in 1926.
- Former municipal garage for Durham Fire Department and City.
- EPF covenants put in place early 1999.
- Rehabbed by Zapolski + Rudd later in 1999.
- Iconic Durham Fire Drill Tower still remains.
- Listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
- Named one of top redevelopment projects in Triangle Business Journal’s 2000 Real Estate Quarterly.